U.S. NCVA Distinguished Service Awards

The Executive Director of the U.S. Naval Cryptologic Veterans Association is afforded the opportunity to recognize members who have consistently and over a significant period provided outstanding service to the Association and its goals.

Distinguished Service Awards

CTICS(SS) Lewis Ray Bearden USN (Ret.)

CTRCM(SW) John William Smith USN (Ret.)

CTICM(SS) Matthew T. Zullo USN (Ret.)


CTOC Doyle Lee Mobley USN (Ret.)

CTRC William T. Craig, Sr. USN (Ret.)

CWO3 David E. Fiehtner USN (Ret.)


CTMCM Jay R. Browne USN, (Ret.)

CTTCS Joseph A. Glockner USN (Ret.)

CWO3 Robert A. Rude USN (Ret.)

Executive Director’s Comments:

“Each of them, in their own way, has made singularly significant contributions to the NCVA you all know today, and continue to influence our current operations and activities. Next time you see one or talk with them, be sure to congratulate them on this recognition.”


CTTCM Robert Anderson USN (Ret.)

CTOCM Stephen Roberts USN (Ret.)

CTRCM John (Gus) Gustafson USN (Ret.)

Executive Director’s Comments:

“…it was my privilege and honor to present three of our longest working volunteers a special award in recognition of their service to the NCVA — each of them covering the better part of three contiguous decades! Bob Anderson, Gus Gustafson, and Steve Roberts have each provided leadership and invaluable service in many volunteer capacities, and continue to do so today. All three have been instrumental in the establishment, design, and operation of the Joseph N. Wenger Cryptologic Command Display, more familiarly known as the “Command Display” at Corry Station in Pensacola. When you add up the years (decades) these men have served the NCVA, we’re talking about nearly NINETY years between them!

“I’m sure you will agree with me that their unselfish service to NCVA over many years more than justifies this small token of our appreciation and respect for everything they’ve done.”